It’s Funny…

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Anecdotes, Misc.
Tags: ,

I like to think that there are two types of people in this world: those that embrace change in their life, and those that avoid it or lament it when it happens.

I fall more into the former category. If something is different in my life than it’s often for the better. Which is why I’m proud to announce that I will begin operations to turn myself into a beautiful, vibrant woman.

I kid, I kid. I like having a penis too much (more on that later)

But when it comes to having alterations in your life I think it’s good to welcome it. People who have read my blog in the past know that I moved out during the latter part of last year into what I would consider to be a nicer (if slightly more expensive) house. It’s perhaps not the most ‘out there’ change to any particular life but it was something I went for anyway knowing that I would be happier.

And who uses phrases like ‘out there’ anyway? Weirdos, that’s who…

It’s also no secret to people who know me personally that I am willing to uproot and move away for a career change or dream job that I know will benefit me in more ways than one (sexual benefits notwithstanding). I truly believe that change can be good, however small or significant. It’s not always easy. And it’s not always right. But it’s part and parcel of the whole learning experience that many important scholars often refer to as ‘life’. Those crazy academics and their terminology…

Take as a counter example my ex girlfriend. A person whom I am still friends with I must point out at this stage. She was not often keen on change in her life. Whether this was down to sentimental attachments she had to certain things or whether it was her being brought up in a somewhat traditional town who’s many inhabitants would hold conservative values for, is hard to say.

It wasn’t a bad thing. But we were often at odds with each other over it. And it did just make me think that while some people actively seek change, there are others who may shy away from it.

Anyway, the long and short of it is: in nine months I’ll be a father to one of these:

Remember that penis reference I made earlier?

And then the biggest change of my life to date will begin…

Leave a comment

Comments
  1. Rachael says:

    I do like your blog, i have known you for a very long time and i honestly never thought that i would see or hear you say this news.
    I am glad that you are pleased about it too, i think that you will have a lot to offer as a father and i wish you all the luck in the world.

    Plus….how random that our children will be almost the same age…

  2. Andrew says:

    Thank you. My life is done a complete 180 in the last week or so. There’s still a lot that’s swirling in my head and I know that there will be hard times ahead but once she said to me that she wanted to keep it I was surprised (as was she) and not only how well I took the news but how happy I seemed as well.

    This is going to be a monster of a chapter in my life 🙂

    • Rachael says:

      Most defantly it will be, for me it is a highly emotional and exciting time. When i told my husband i didnt quite beleive it myself.
      The look on his face told me everything i needed to know, i was a little scared when i found out but also over joyed too.

      We are looking forward to being parents, teaching the baby about things…Cricket has got to be number one for sure.

      Well yeah its exciting and it is most defantly a huge change and a great chapter to start.

      😀

Leave a Reply

