Tomorrow is a significant day for two types of people. First, gamers of all ages who have been awaiting the much anticipated release of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. This marks a special day on the calender of RPG-gamers the length and breadth of many a-one bedroom studio flat.

For the rest of the waking, non-gaming, world it is also Rememberance Day. A day in which the nation honours the soldiers who fought in World War I right up until the Armistice on the 11th hour of the 11th day or the 11th month 1918. One such tradition is to remember (you see what they did there) those who fought and died with a two minute silence.

So here’s what I’m proposing: Tomorrow, during the 11th hour of this sacred day, I will be venturing into my local Game outlet to purchase my pre-order copy of the aforementioned title because nerdgasms become dull after more than a few hours. But I will not be asking for the game using vocalisations. No I will be asking for it through the medium of a crudely written sign. (a format usually reserved for angry protestors)

So my question is this: does this go against every principle of the two minutes silence? Some of you reading this may think this act is in bad taste, or even completely disrespectful. In which case I have two things to say in rebuttal. Firstly, not a single word will be uttered from my mouth-hole during this silence. Therefore I am not breaking the social etiquette of the two minute’s silence. Now even with that loophole covered some of you may be clutching your Daily Mails quite tightly in anger at my actions. But my second point is simply to ask what these veterans fought and died for? It wasn’t cake.

Nor was it for intriguing video game box art...

Freedom (or at least the idea of it). That’s what tabloid papers and daily news shows will have us remember. Freedom. Soliders fighting, killing and dying for theirs and our freedom. Now, we live in a democracy (you have to dig quite deep in our society to find pockets of it, but I’m adamant it’s still there) and so we understand what the term ‘freedom’ means but I think it’s also a safe bet to assume that not all of us enforces that idea. So as rebellious as my act will be I think it also goes some way to show the types of freedoms that we were given by war veterans. If freedom really does mean freedom, then surely that would include the escapades of an excited gamer, purchasing his copy of Skyrim during probably the most patriotic two minutes this country sees each year.

Is it disrespectful? Not at all. I actually think it’s the opposite.

Discuss.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

