I Overthink Things…

Posted: September 27, 2011 in Anecdotes, Misc.
Tags: , , ,

The other day I happened to be in town on a rather important business outing (I was hungover and looking for a small animal to punt in frustratuion). During said outing I made my way through the indoor shopping centre, which brought me past the Shoe Zone outlet. I paid no nevermind to this rather inane shop facia and continued with my pet-hunting agenda.

Suddenly I felt the urge to do a double take at the shoe establishment I had just passed. They were having a sale on. Nothing out of the ordinary in that context. Until, that is, I saw the posters advertising said sale:

But which shoe is the free one? A paradox!

To which I could only conjure up the phrase: ‘That’s handy for a shoe shop’…in my head. I mean, I know they don’t literally mean that if you buy the left trainer you get the right one for no extra charge, but I do wonder whether some people think about these things. I also couldn’t help thinking of people – prior to the sale – hopping out of the shop with only one new shoe on their foot; all the while looking to their bouncing friend by their side and musing about how there needs to be a better method for purchasing new footwear.

Sometimes this shit just writes itself. Othertimes I just get out of my mind on coffee and have to do it myself…

Leave a comment

Comments
  1. That REALLY made me smile. When I saw the photo, the only thing that crossed my mind was: “WOAH that’s nice … You don’t get to pay for the shoes SEPARATELY?” So – NO, you’re not the only one. 😉

    Love stuff like this …

  2. Andrew says:

    That’s good to know. It seemed too obvious a gag for me to be the only one to pick up on it 🙂

  3. binaryferret says:

    I haven’t been in a shoe shop for years…

Leave a Reply

